To All You Lovers…….

L’amour, Amore, Cariad, Amor, Liebe, Ask, Love. Just Love. So many languages, but the word is the same. And today is Valentine’s Day (with the apostrophe!), where we celebrate love……. and I believe it should be a celebration, irrespective of whether you are single, married or “it’s complicated”!

I have been married twice and have had a few relationships, although no-one I could formally call “boyfriend”, since I split with my second husband. I have loved many, and I have been “in love” and guess what, I LOVE, LOVE!! Who doesn’t want the feeling in your tummy when you are excited to see someone? Who doesn’t want the anticipation of that first kiss and the buzz of electricity? Who doesn’t want to wake up next to someone who will hug you, pull you close and look you in the eye and tell you they love you? I want ALL of that! And why not? Absolutely, you shouldn’t need to have one day of the year where you show your affection and celebrate love. But conversely, why not!! Stop moaning that it’s commercial, stop hating those who love each other, start loving! I’m still looking. I’m still hoping. I want the fairy tale. There is “a” man in my life, but we are, as the kids say, having fun and he is by no means “my” man. Life is short and I’m loving it and living it. Which means enjoying the moments with a guy who makes me laugh, even if it isn’t something that is my forever fairy tale.

Today, as I have for the past few years, I will be celebrating love, not with “my man”,  but with family and friends. Celebrating platonic and maternal love. Equally as important as being in love and a damned good excuse for drinking champagne, fizzy apple juice and watching a shit romantic film – with tissues because there will be tears!!

As I have said in another blog (that you can read HERE), I don’t NEED a man, I just want one. Someone to hug me, to fuck me, to talk to me first thing in the morning and last thing at night, to buy me flowers, to go on holiday with, to sit in silence with. A best friend, a lover, someone to grow old with. And yes, I would absolutely get married again. But no, no need to buy a hat just yet.

Leave a comment